Entering Tones (Checked Tones) - Dr. Cantonese
  • An empty cart

    You have no item in your shopping cart

Enter your keyword


Entering Tones (Checked Tones)

Entering Tones (Checked Tones)

Dr. Cantonese (Chapman Chen, Ph.D.)

Cantonese has nine tones and six tone contours. The six tone contours include high-falling (1), mid-rising (2), mid-level (3), low-falling (4), low falling (5), low-level (6). There are three entering tones, namely, entering high-level (1), entering mid-level (3), entering low-level (6). For example, read aloud in the following order: fan1? (divide) fan2? (powder) fan3? (training) fat1? (suddenly); fan4? (burn) fan5? (exert oneself) fan6? (part) fat6? (Buddha); faat3? (emit/send). The tone of faat3 is somewhere between fat1 and fat6.

No Comments

Add your review

Your email address will not be published.